Home    Brochure    Join Us    Contact Us    Links   
Updated: December 25, 2017  
head_mark Profile  /  (Japanese)
head_mark Headquarters Activities
head_mark I.I. Chapters
head_mark Chapter Activities
head_mark World Conventions
head_mark Regional Conferences
head_mark Publications
head_mark How To Join I.I.
head_mark Contact Us
  Chapter Anniversaries
  I.I. Members
head_mark Membership
head_mark Gifts
head_mark Donation
head_mark Online Shop
  What is Ikebana?
head_mark What is Ikebana?
head_mark History
head_mark Equipment
head_mark Flowers
head_mark Terminology
head_mark Taking Lessons

∑Access (click to view)

Ikebana International

Ikebana International (I.I.) is a non-profit cultural organization dedicated to the promotion and appreciation of ikebana, the Japanese art of flower arrangement. When the late Ellen Gordon Allen founded the organization in 1956, her dream was to create an organization uniting the peoples of the world through their mutual love of nature and enjoyment of ikebana. That dream has now spread to over 50 countries/area, with 161 chapters and membership of approximately 7,600 persons.

Ikebana International does not teach any single type of ikebana. Rather, it is an interest group made up of people of many nationalities who enjoy ikebana and other arts of Japan. Many of the members have studied ikebana; some have not.

Those who have studied ikebana have learned from many different schools. Some schools of ikebana stress classic styles; other focus on contemporary forms, and some blend the two. Each of the hundreds of schools of ikebana takes its own approach to arranging flowers. At I.I. meetings, students and teachers share openly their own schools' inspirations, styles, philosophy, history, and techniques.

A unique feature of Ikebana International is that the organization was founded by and is still administered by volunteers.

Registered Name: Ippan Shadan Hojin Ikebana International
Established: August 17, 1956
Honorary President: H.I.H. Princess Takamado
Current President: Diana Salansky (2017-2018)
Honorary Advisors: Etsuko Hattori, Haruhiko Ishikawa,
Tsunenari Tokugawa, Wakako Ohara
Int'l Parliamentarian: Kathy Roper
Legal Advisor: Yoshimasa Usui (Usui & Partners)
Accounting Auditor: Mikio Koyano (Koyano C.P.A Office)
Headquarters: Misaki Building
3-28-9 Kanda Ogawacho, Chiyoda-ku,
Tokyo 101-0052, Japan
Telephone: +81-(0)3-3293-8188
Facsimile: +81-(0)3-3294-2272
E-mail: ikebana@ikebanahq.org
Website: http://www.ikebanahq.org
Chapters and Members: 161 chapters with 7,600 members in over 50 countries / areas

International Board of Directors, Auditor and Accounting Auditor
International President Diana Salansky
First Vice President Miho Okawara
Second Vice President Kazuko Yano
Third Vice President Itsumi Yamamoto
Recording Secretary Nobuko Sakata
Corresponding secretary Mieko Tomiya
Treasurer Reiko Kawamura
Assistant Treasurer Yumie Sasaki
Historian Kumiko Kameoka
Amendment Director Fumiko Misawa
Development Director Miyoko Watanabe
Nominating Director Yoshiko Ogoshi
Protocol Director Shizuko Okubo
Publication Director Noriyo Nagasaki
Public Relations Director Reiko Inumaru
Translation Director Junko Nakajima
Coordinating Director Junko Narui
Website Director Ikuko Tsuchiya
Auditor Yoshimasa Usui
Accounting Auditor Mikio Koyano
International Parliamentarian Kathy Roper

Ikebana Schools
Saga Goryu
Saga Goryu
Shinpa Seizan
Shinpa Seizan
Home  |  Brochure  |  Join Us  |  Contact Us  |  Links Disclaimer and Copyright Notice